Drive failure in my personal Exchange 2010 server


A few months ago I upgraded my home Exchange mail system from Exchange 2007 to Exchange 2010.  During this process I added a secondary server that was identical to the main server.  By having two Exchange 2010 servers I was able to utilize the DAG feature that is new in this version of Exchange. 

All that to say – yesterday my main Exchange server disk drive failed.  I got home from work and shutdown the server, removed the hard drive and tried to run some tests.  All I got was clicking, it won’t even see the partition table.  Fortunately, since I was running Exchange 2010 with a DAG for redundancy, I was able to quickly activate the database copies on the secondary server thereby eliminating any downtime or data loss of my Exchange system.  Currently, the secondary server is actively hosting my databases.  My mobile phone still works through ActiveSync, OWA works, incoming and outgoing mail also, no problems! 

I’ve purchased a replacement drive which should be here in a day or two.  The downside is the drive that failed has failed to a degree where recovering the drive is highly unlikely.  Since I don’t have RAID on any of my servers (due to cost) I will end up having to rebuild this server.  My next steps will include reinstalling the Operating system and Exchange 2010.  I plan on using a recovery mode install of Exchange 2010 which should restore all my Exchange settings and configuration leaving very little left to do but tweak a few things and make sure my DAG is re-created.  My only other option is to manually remove all traces of the failed server from Active Directory and then re-install Exchange in normal mode.  This would be a little more work so I’m hoping the recovery mode install will work properly. 

I LOVE EXCHANGE 2010!

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on November 10, 2010, in Active Directory, Exchange, General, Professional/Tech, Software. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Drive failure in my personal Exchange 2010 server.

Comments are closed.

