Getting Data Protection Manager agent to work on remote servers


I am now using Microsoft Data Protection Manager 2010 to handle backups of my personal Exchange mail server.  It took a while to figure out how to set this up since I had never used this product before and knew nothing about it until talking to my instructor at a recent Exchange 2010 training class I attended.  I learned a few tricks that may help someone else quickly avoid problems during a deployment of DPM 2010. 

First, DPM server must be a standalone server, it cannot be installed on an Exchange server or a domain controller.  In addition, you should install the AD management tools on the server as without them you will get a cryptic error message telling you that the server cannot communicate with AD and thinks you are in a workgroup or have a mis-configured DNS client. 

Now that you have the DPM Server installed, its time to deploy the agent.  You can deploy the agent to remove computers from a wizard driven interface, however I found that this did NOT work for me at all.  I had to manually install the agent by running the agent installer directly from the C:Program FilesMicrosoft Data Protection ManagerDPMProtectionAgents.  Think you are done…not quite!  Now open a command prompt and navigate to the DPMbin directory.  Execute this command “setdpmserver -dpmservername nameofyourserverhere” and press enter.  for the servername, use the FQDN (i.e. servername.domain.local).  The documentation says to use domainservername, but this DOES NOT WORK. 

One you do the above, you can go into the services control panel and set the DPM server service to automatic and start it.  Now you can go to your DPM server and configure protection groups and add member servers.  Enjoy!

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on August 9, 2010, in Products I use, Professional/Tech, Ramblings, Technology. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Getting Data Protection Manager agent to work on remote servers.

Comments are closed.

