Have to click user icon to unlock Windows Vista


Something happened to my Windows Vista desktop that I use primarily at work.  To explain the issue, here is some background information.  I normally lock my computer anytime I step away from it to prevent un-authorized access.  It used to be that I could just hit CTRL+ALT+DEL and type in my password and press (Return|Enter) to unlock my machine.  However, in the last week or so instead of bringing up the password field for the logged on user when you hit CTR+ALT+DEL, what you get instead is an icon for the username which you then have to click or just hit enter before you type in the password.  Now this may not sound like much of a problem, but when you are used to something happening a certain way, changing that makes a difference.  I didn’t change any of my user options in Vista, so I am guessing that this is a change from a recent update or something from Microsoft.  I don’t have access to many Vista machine to test this on, but I am curious if anyone else has seen this before and if you know how to fix it.  If I find a solution I will post it here, but for now I am still looking.  I just want to hit CTRL+ALT+DEL and type in my password to logon, I don’t want to have to click on my user icon or have an extra key press before I can put in my password.  Maybe thats just me being set in my ways…

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on December 9, 2008, in General, Products I use, Professional/Tech, Ramblings, Software, Technology. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have the same issue and it annoys me too! I don’t have to press (A+C+D) though because it is a personal computer. I have this problem on windows 7 although what you describe is what I now get… anyone got any solutions???

