Missing CD/DVD drive in Windows XP


I ran into a problem years ago when re-installing Widnows XP where my CD/DVD drive disappeared.  I hadn’t though of this issue in a long time, but recently someone I work with had this very same problem.  I did some searching and came across Doug Knox’s website which has a downloadable fix for this problem.  I don’t know for sure if this is the same fix I ran on my computer years ago, but it did the trick.  Download the fix, run it and it takes care of the problem after a reboot.  I believe all its doing is removing the upperFilter and LowerFilter keys from the device ID in the registry, but its just easier to run this fix and let it do the editing for you.  Here is the link to the original MS KB article detailing the symptoms of this issue and listing manual instructions for fixing it.

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on September 9, 2008, in General, Products I use, Professional/Tech, Software, Technology. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Funny … I tried Upper/LowerFilter removal trick when I was trying to fix my Vista optical drive woes. Unfortunately for me it didn’t work.

  2. I don’t think this trick will work with Windows Vista, the MS KB says it applies to Windows XP.

