Vista SP1 removes search from start menu


I find this highly annoying as a user who frequently has to search for files.  It seems Microsoft removed the search button from the start menu in Vista SP1.  In my case, I couldn’t even use the (windows key + F) to launch the search dialog.  I had to search around and found this registry hack which restores search to the context menu when you right-click on a folder, adding “search” as an option.  This is the only way I can currently access windows search.  Use the following information to restore the search contact menu item…

Open Regedit and navigate to
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTDirectoryshellfind

Rename the REG_SZ: ‘LegacyDisable’ value to something else like, say, ‘LegacyDisablex’

Exit registry editor and try right-clicking on a folder. You will see that “Search” appears again. You can now use this to access the windows search application. I still can’t get search back in my start menu just yet, but a little more google searching and I’m sure I’ll find a solution.

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on April 17, 2008, in Products I use, Professional/Tech, Software and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Vista SP1 removes search from start menu.

Comments are closed.

