Sunbelt Exchange Archiver


I am working on evaluating trying to evaluate the new Sunbelt Exchange Archiver from Sunbelt Software.  It was just officially released yesterday (11–19–07) and made available for download from their website.  I went ahead and downloaded it yesterday, and spent most of my day today trying to get it installed and working so I can take a look at it first hand.  Right off the bat I had problems getting it installed.  The servers I’m using are test servers on an isolated network, so they are not routinely patched and maybe that is playing a role in my issues.  What I do know is that mcvcr71.dll was not properly registered and caused the installer to fail.  After giving up on fixing that for now, I went to another test server and trie the install.  On the second machine I got past the mcvcr71.dll issue and this time had an error when attempting to create a mailbox for the superuser account. 

I’m waiting for a call back from Sunbelt support to help me get the product installed.  I’m impressed by the software’s functionality and apparent ease of use.  I have a few questions about deploying it in a global diverse network, and need to get more information from them for testing and putting together a deployment plan.  I watched their hour long product walk through via LiveMeeting, and really liked what I saw.  I’ll post more about my experiences with this product as I go along.

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on November 20, 2007, in Professional/Tech, Software and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sunbelt Exchange Archiver.

Comments are closed.

