DNS uh oh!


I will admit that I made a pretty bad oopsie recently regarding my DNS confiugration for my personal domains, specifically with the MX records. Recently I decided to cancel my no-ip backup mail service account, so I removed the no-ip mail servers from my MX records in my DNS zones. What I forgot was that I had setup my DNS on DNSExit.com rather than on my own hosting server. So the place I fixed the MX records made no difference at all, and last night or this morning when my no-ip account expired, they began rejecting mail for my domains. I was alerted to this issue by my loving wife who calmly told me she couldn’t get any email from her friends. I quickly identified the issue and made the necessary corrections on the DNSExit system and mail flow has been restored. There could be some DNS servers out there that have my DNS zone cached, so for up to 2 days, we still face missing some e-mail. Fortunately, the sender will get a bounce back and hopefully realize that something is wrong and they need to re-send their message later. This is the first major mail stoppage I’ve had in a LONG time. I plan to diagram my mail flow and DNS configuration so that I can reference this information in the future, since I don’t look at it every day, its easy to forget how things are setup.

UPDATE | 8-27-07

It turns out I thought I had fixed everything but hadn’t. I noticed I still wasn’t receiving the normal amount of mail I normally would on my shorehost.com domain. After checking again, I found I had forgotten yet another backup DNS service that I use and had not yet removed the no-ip MX records from that provider. So I fixed that, and I’m happy to report that mail is now flowing normally now. However for several days there, since approximately Aug 23rd, incoming mail to my personal domains was affected and mail was bounced back to the senders. So if anyone sent me or my wife anything important, please re-send!!! This is the first major outage caused by an “oopsie” that I’ve ever had on my personal mail system.

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on August 24, 2007, in Professional/Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on DNS uh oh!.

Comments are closed.

