Changes to my blog


Last night I implimented a few changes to my blog. I added several new plugins that will make the site much more functional. Here is a list of the changes:

1. Share This – you will now notice a “share this” link in each post. This will allow you to more easily share any post on my blog with your favorite services, such as technorati, etc. There are many other services listed, and it makes the whole process much easier.

2. Blog Stats – I installed this plugin to get better information on the stats of my blog. I tried Google Analytics, but didn’t like the interface much. So I’m giving this a try to see if I can get better stats. I already have access to several other stat apps since I use cpanel on my hosting server, but I want to get some other information as well.

3. Gallery2 plugin – I added this so I can post about new pictures in my picture gallery on my main website. With this plugin, I can easily browse my albums and simply click an image to easily link to it and post a pic in my blog.

4. Random redirect – I added this just for fun, and made a post about it. Its a link that will take you to a random blog post on my site. Its toally for fun and I probably won’t use it much, but its still pretty cool. Stumbleupon type random post finder.

5. Search Everything – I haven’t enabled this one yet, but when I do, its going to be cool. It will let you search everything on my blog in one simple search box.

6. Twitter tools – I enabled this so that each time I make a blog post, Word Press makes a post to my twitter account. Again, not very useful, but totally for fun.

7. Updated today banner – I haven’t actually gotten this to work yet, but when it does work, its supposed to add a neat little banner to my blog saying its been updated today. I’m still working on this one.

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on May 10, 2007, in Professional/Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Changes to my blog.

Comments are closed.

