Dynamic IP Change


For the first time in about 2 years, my dynamic IP address at home changed! I got up yesterday morning and thought to myself, “hmm, my IP is going to change”. Before leaving for work I realized that it had, sometime after 3am. So I had to make some DNS changes and ended up switching DNS on my main domain to another company so I can use a dynamic DNS system that supports multiple domains and subdomains. I went with DNSExit, as they had the best dynamic update client, and perfect services for what I’m doing at home. Now I won’t have to worry about an IP change anymore. I didn’t lose any e-mail or anything, since my MX records are backup mail servers, they queued all my mail until my DNS updates took effect. Gotta love redundancy and backup systems!

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on March 30, 2007, in Professional/Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Dynamic IP Change.

Comments are closed.

