Computer problems


Sometimes even us computer professionals make really dumb mistakes on our computers. I was downloading some software last night and messing around a bit, when I opened something I knew I shouldn’t have. I had some zip files on my desktop that I had downloaded and when I tried to open them (without first scanning them for viruses) they just said the archive was damaged. But I could extract them with winrar. So I figured I just did something bad! I was adding and removing software from the PC, when I had to reboot. After the reboot, Windows would load to a blue screen waiting to open the logon box, but instead I just got STOP errors and Winlogon would crash and do a memory dump. So I stayed up till about 11:30 working on it, trying to get it working before Liz got home so she would have her PC today. I was never able to get it working and even tried some live linux CDs just to get her something to use. No luck! So I am going to try a different tool tonight to see if I can get to the system restore feature of Windows XP (since not even Safe Mode will work). If that works it makes it easier for me to backup and then re-load everything, but either way, it looks I’ll spend my weekend re-loading our PC again! I seem to be doing that more and more frequently lately. I wish I had a nice powerful server I could run Virtual server 2005 on, then I could just setup a virtual PC for all my downloading and testing, then it wouldn’t screw up my PC! I think I may also start making routine backups with ghost or something like that once I get it back up and running. I get the feeling that I need to do some hardware swapping too, since the machine seems so slow. Its got good stuff in it, but its just not as fast as it used to be. I could probably use a new hard drive, memory and motherboard. We use our computers a lot, and they run almost all the time, so things do tend to wear out!

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on February 16, 2007, in Professional/Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Computer problems.

Comments are closed.

