Spitting in the urinal


I can’t help but wonder if I’ve uncovered some ancient ritual, or cultural habbit. I’ve noticed over the years (yeah sorry, another bathroom story) that most men when using a urinal, will spit in the urinal before actually using it. They will walk up, spit, and do their business. It doesn’t seem to matter what time of day it is, nor what type of person. Its everyone from the young casually dressed man to the older well dressed executives. I’ve tried to come up with some explanation, and figure out some reason for doing this. Is this some type of reflex, or habbit you pickup as a kid. Were these people taught by their parents that anytime you have to “wee wee”, you spit first? I just don’t get it. I’ve never done this that I can remember, and can’t think of a good reason for doing it. If anyone has any thoughts on this and would care to enlighten me, please feel free.

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on January 30, 2007, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Spitting in the urinal.

Comments are closed.

