Recent tech delights


1. Server 2003 clustering with Exchange virtual cluster. All on HP equipment, including MSA1500 SAN, redundant fibre channel switches and DL580 servers. Was able to run several tests and everything worked perfectly.

2. Spam filter changes. Currently I'm using an unlimited license of NoSpamToday for servers from Byteplant.com. Their spam filtering product has been great for my company in general, but spamassassin takes a great deal of tweaking and configuration, so I've been digging through perl type code going through and adding my own filters. I recently added a keyword filter which I generated by hand based on reports from NST on mail that made it through. I ran it all weekend and spam rates are down. I can't wait to see the log tomorrow and see what effect it had on spam rates in general on a normal working day.

3. Exchange 2007. I downloaded a VHD of Microsoft Exchange 2007 to play around with. I like the new interface, but its going to take some getting used to, since they moved everything around. There are also some new things I'm going to have to read up on before actually working with it in a live test. Overall I think its good, and can't wait to test it more.

4. Server 2003 R2. I've been able to setup R2 for Server 2003 and use some of the new file server tools. I love the new reporting, and file server management tools that are now available.

5. This isn't a new thing, but I am really enjoying ActiveSync and DirectPush on my Cingular 8125. Its awesome to have full connectivity to both my company e-mail system through Goodlink and my personal e-mail system at home. I've only had small setup issues in the beginngin with this, but its been working great for me for a few months now. If I ever lose this ability, I'm going to feel like I'm missing my right arm or somethign…

Thats it for now.]]>

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on December 4, 2006, in Professional/Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Recent tech delights.

Comments are closed.

