Another problem with McAfee mini-firewall


Yet again, I’ve run into a problem with the McAfee mini firewall component of the viruscan suite 8.0i. This time it has to do with email over SMTP. At my company we use I Hate Spam from sunbelt software as our SPAM filtering engine. We have a separate server running this IHS software as a gateway for incoming e-mail. Well, suddenly we started having problems receiving mail from IHS, it would queue at the IHS server, but would never get delivered to the exchange server. After a few days of diagnosis it was discovered that the McAfee mini-firewall was blocking the smtpsvc.exe and marking it as a worm. We had to add an exception for this service in McAfee to avoid having SMTP traffic stopped. This was a major pain and caused hours of downtime in my company for incoming e-mail. Makes me wish we were using Symantec rather than McAfee (which is my personal preference anyway).

About Joe

I am the author of this blog, IT engineer, husband, father, and somewhat of a nerd.

Posted on March 18, 2006, in Professional/Tech and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Another problem with McAfee mini-firewall.

Comments are closed.

